Many people believe that watching a live performance is more enjoyable than watching the same event on television. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Watching television are incomparable to being in the moment and experiencing it yourself some people can say. While there are indubitably various advantages of staying in the comfort of your home or avoiding the avid crowds on such occurrence, I completely stand with the former statement and will explore the reason behind this thinking through this essay.

Observing performances live may be favoured for they can boarden one’s horizon on the nature of such events. With the process of editing footage to ensure that it is suitable for the public before broadcasting, the authentic experience is often distorted into something more ideal. This can be evident in a survival show called Anh Trai Say Hi, a receiving backlash for the ranking of a performance that was shorten resulting into it being regarded as “boring” and “unstructured” by online spectators, yet got various compliments from individuals watching it live. Another thing is that, the thrilling atmosphere which can only be found with large crowds are not visible through a screen. The thrill and excitement and the pumping music is a part of the distinct atmosphere of a live events not quite anything can replace.

On the other hand, being able to observe something with your own point of view may bring you dissatisfaction as the truth is not always as expected. Firstly is the surrounding crowd, numerous accidents occured in concerts every year because of suffocation and people pushing each other to get a better view. Leading to the second problem which is seating, the predicted distance from the stadium may be further, making you unable to have the fullest experience and constantly struggling to get a view. Lastly is the quality of the performance, artist may not perform at their best and letting the viewers down.

Being in the moment and having your own experience of a performance can comes with numerous problems, however it will be an eye-widening experience, allowing us to have our own prejiduce and making future descions. Therefore, I agree that watching events live with be more enjoyable than simply watching the same version through a TV.