Many people do not know their neighbours why is this and what can be done?

Nowadays, majority of people are unfamiliar with their neighborhood. While this can be attributed to hectic lifestyle of people, inadequate infrastructures in many places, the problem can be mitigated by organizing more social events and improving infrastructures to facilitate socialization.

Lack of neighborly relationships can be explained by the fact that people are very busy today. Many people work from the early morning until the late night, leaving little to no time to socialize with others, let alone the neighbors. Even if they have any free time mostly at the weekends they spend it pursuing happiness, doing hobbies, or just relaxing themselves. Another reason behind this issue is the poor infrastructures. In many cities, there are no public gardens, playgrounds, or any other places to enable to meet with their neighbors or friends. In fact, we can see many apartments with fences around which encourage people stay indoor, resulting in loss in neighborhood relationships

However, there are many ways by which problem can be resolved. One effective measure would be organizing more social events. If there were such events, people would have an opportunity to meet their neighbors more, even they might loose the burdens between them. Take my country – Uzbekistan. We always try to strengthen friendly relations among people and celebrate any public holidays together. “Navruz” is one of many such celebrations which shows our strongly united society. Another solution, one that further strengthen the first idea, is offering adequate infrastructures. Governments should construct apartments, which offer enough facilities and public places to let people meet each other frequently. Introducing playgrounds for children, picnic areas, or even having shared plot to produce vegetables might force people to go outside and blend in with their neighborhood.

In conclusion, the ultimate causes for lack of neighborhood relations are busy life-schedules of people and poorly organized infrastructures. To improve the situation, more public events should be organized and governments must pay attention to offer suitable infrastructures for people.