Many people do not know their neighbours why is this and what can be done?

Nowadays, it has become generally acknowledged that people do not know their neighbors. In this essay, I will examine the factors that contribute towards this situation and propose some solutions to them.

There are two primary reasons of people not knowing their neighbors. Firstly, the advancement of technology that causes people to become more comfortable socializing online than in person. They can easily dial in their own circle whenever and wherever they want, which can therefore help them to fulfil their social needs. This means, people will not see the needs of socializing in real life and making more friends in their neighborhood. Secondly, fast-paced environment also contributes to why people don’t know their neighbors. People are occupied with their school activites or work-related activities. They often come home late and go to work or school early in the morning, making them to not having enough time to socialize with their neighbors.

Despite these obstacles, I believe there are ways to rebuild the harmonization within the neighborhood. By organizing social events or gatherings during public holidays or in the weekend, people can engage in conversation and interact with each other. Local community manager or local government can also take part to unite the neighborhood by promoting the culture of collectivism or building spaces in which the people can gather and interact.

In conclusion, technological growth and the nature of face-paced environment in today’s society serve as the main factors why people don’t interact with their neighbors. However, we can overcome this problem by encouraging and organizing social events so that people can have a stronger bond with their neighbors.