Many people feel that media coverage has become increasingly biased today. Why is this? What can be done to fix this problem?

In today’s modern society, many individuals believe that news and media are no longer fair or neutral. This essay will explore how financial pressure and political influence are the main causes of this problem, also how through proper media regulation and public education, this problem can curtailed.

There are several causes of media’s bias. Firstly, financial pressure can be considered a leading cause of that concern. As many tv channels heavily rely on advertisements and sponsorship, which can affect their reporting. For example, a news channel owned or sponsored by company will only highlight a positive side while avoiding a negative story of a company in order to protect its image, Thus, revenue-related pressure can be considered a fueling force behind this issue.

Secondly, apart from economic pressure, political influence is also a leading cause in this menace. As some media organizations are owned by individuals or groups with strong political agendas. For instance, during election certain new channel shows only the achievement of their favorite party and ignoring their failures, thereby shaping public opinion. Hence, political influence can be considered a breeding ground of the concern.

However, there are certain viable measures that can be taken to curb this issue. The primary solution to this problem I believe would be that implementing of strict media regulation by independent bodies and government authorities. As it will force the news and media organization to remain fair and neutral. Furthermore, another possible solution would be educating the public. As it would raise awareness among masses that how can they verify news from a multiple source.

To sum-up, even though political interference and financial pressure are widespread in our societies. I believe through education and strict media policy this problem can be curtailed.