Many people feel that media coverage has become increasingly biased today. Why is this? What can be done to fix this problem?

In the modern world, many people speculate that the bias of media coverage has been rapidly increasing. I believe that this statement is true because many media sources are controlled by governments, and a good solution to this problem would be to promote critical thinking in schools.

One of the reasons why media coverage has become increasingly biased over the years is because governments are financially sustaining media sources or controlling them directly. For many governments controlling media sources is convenient, as media sources are the main way for people to receive information about recent events, and controlling them means that media coverage about certain events could be modified to present the information favorably for government leaders. Spectators who are constantly exposed to biased media can not understand the whole picture of the actual state of the government, as media bias creates a narrow perspective about certain events.For example, In Kazakhstan, many government owned media sources, such as Khabar, were downplaying the economic difficulties of Kazakhstan, and instead were praising governmental achievements. Therefore, many Kazakh citizens were given the incomplete picture of the state’s situation.

One of the solutions to the rapid expansion of media bias in recent years is to promote the enhancement of critical thinking in the education system. People with high critical thinking skills can understand the whole picture of recent events by combining the facts that they have seen on television and the facts that they clearly know about, like recent events in the city they are living in. By promoting the improvement of critical thinking skills in school the growing generations could be more aware of the situation in their own country. For instance, in Europe, many kids are taught to enhance their critical thinking skills at school by applying logical thinking in things they do everyday, as it helps them understand the hidden meaning of the things they learn as they grow older. Consequently, the new generation of European citizens have a better understanding of the actual state of their own country, which helps them detect media bias.

To summarize, from my perspective, the media has become increasingly biased today because numerous media outlets are dependent economically on governments. However, there is a solution to this problem that consists of encouraging education systems to enhance critical thinking skills in schools.