Many people feel that media coverage has become increasingly biased today. Why is this? What can be done to fix this problem?

In the contemporary world, the issue of biased media coverage is ongoing. There are several measures that can be taken to address this problem. I firmly believe that the most effective solution is governmental control over media.

One key issue why media coverage has become highly biased is political influence. Nowadays, there are several parties in the parliament and this causes conflict among people. For instance, sometimes the headlines of the news in news channels imply to a specific party’s perspective. As a result, these channels leading their audience to accept their beliefs. Furthermore, since social media is open to everyone’s opinions and comments the real information is getting lost and replaced with fake data for business purposes. For example, random people can represent themselves as doctors and advice individuals without qualification or any knowledge, yet being paid for it. Therefore, numerous people fall into these traps and waste a huge amount of money and time.

However, there are various actions that could be taken to counteract this problem. Firstly, for those biased news channels governments should scrutinise their headlines and the news that they are sharing with residents. This tight control will hamper them to underpin people’s thoughts by their own opinion. Secondly and most significantly, authorities should raise people’s awareness about the fake information that is shared online. For instance, schools can teach children about how carefully they need to handle these traps; additionally, preparing some leaflets that illustrates the importance of getting advice from only qualified doctors will help tackling this issue.

To conclude, the challenges arising from biased media coverage is considerable, yet they can mitigated through states control and increasing people’s knowledge.