Many people feel that media coverage has become increasingly biased today. Why is this? What can be done to fix this problem?

Recently, it is widely believed that rather than being objective the news coverage is becoming biased. This is mainly due to financial motives and political influences but it can be solved by giving freedom to journalists and better government structure which supports media.

One major reason is, the earnings of such news agencies is depended on advertisements, and those people try to influence the content. This is because, the main source of income is via advertising goods and services of various brands. Now because these brands are paying so much that it leads to indirect control of them to regulate the information. As a result, news channels are forced to publish and show what is being told to them for the sake of making money.

Another important factor is, high political influence. This is because, these parties are image conscious and they do not wish that any negative image is being portrayed, not even constructive criticism. Consequently, they control the media houses, and it is only after approval of these big people any news is distributed, where they promote their policies, good governance, and try to manipulate individuals by building strong brand, which creates bias. Yet, if the said is not followed it can lead to negative impact on these agencies.

To address this issue, funding of these media houses done by neutral organization where there are strict rules on rights of free flow of information. Additionally, constitutional amendments protecting the rights and independence of media, without any political influence. This would help to produce unbiased and true information directly to the citizens, earn decent profits and no hinderance or pressure by other organizations.

In conclusion, although monetary benefits and external pressure are the main causes the problem, it can be tackled through implementation of better polices and allowing enough freedom