Many people in the undeveloped world die from diseases that are curable because they can't afford the medication to treat themselves. Do you believe that drug companies in the developed world should be obliged to make their products available at reduced prices in these undeveloped countries so that people do not die unnecessarily?

Today in undeveloped countries, most people who can’t afford their medication to treat their curable illnesses are passing away. In order to prevent this situation, it is believed that drug companies should lower their prices and should make the drugs available in undeveloped countries. I’m inclined to believed that it is an effective method to prevent contagious diseases, to attract more customers and should be in use.

Firstly, lowering the prices of medications can be an efficient way to prevent infectious illnesses such as malaria. If drugs needed for the diseases are not affordable for some people, they may try to treat their illness in other ways. Other ways that they may utilize may not meet the medical ethics requirements, as a result the unethical ways of treating the diseases may result in rising of infectious diseases. To illustrate that, in India, nearly more than 10 000 people were reported lto be infected by a contagious disease produced using an unethical treatments of simple diseases like flu. If the medications are at lower prices, more people will be able to afford them to treat their illnesses.

Secondly, reducing the prices of drugs can bring a profit for drug companies. If companies in developed countries cut the usual high prices of medications, more and more customers may be willing to buy and may afford to buy drugs they need therefore the number of customers will increase creating the chance for companies to earn millions. For instance, the ibifuren company which sells medication for children earned more than half of the money that they earn in a year in nearly six months after they lowered the price of the product to its half price.

In conclusion, drug companies should reduce the prices of their products as to make a profit for themselves, as to help the poor and to prevent contagious diseases from spreading to the world.