Many people like eating unhealthy food even though they know it is bad for their health. Why is this? What can be done to improve people's eating habits?

One of the worrying trends in modern society is that lots of people prefer to eat unhealthy food even though they know it’s harmful. This occurs for several reasons, the foremost of which are emotion-eating and financial pressure. Concerted efforts from governments and individuals should be made to address this issue.

The main causes are emotion-eating and financial pressure. People tend to eat junk food such as pizza and coca-cola while suffering bad situations. Because human needs food with high-calories to change their bad emotions. Unhealthy food are usually more delicious than healthy food. While eating junk food, human’s brain will be stimulated to produce special things, which can help provide a sense of happiness to human. Moreover, this problem is also caused by financial pressure. People who are poor usually no choice on food selections but to choose unhealthy food, which are generally cheaper. A typical example can be found in America, where 40% of their people are suffering from unhealthy food, and most of them are in a low financial level.

What steps can individuals and governments take to halt the trend? Individuals can help by controlling themselves; for example, purchasing more healthy food such as green food and fruit to replace the junk food. Also, put strong limitations on daily diets and recording every food that has been eaten. In addition, governments should impose the regulations governing any bad moves taken by big companies. For instance, strictly limit their unreasonable movements of putting high-price on healthy food. Governments can also help provide health food to people who fail to afford the healthy food.

In conclusion, emotional damage and financial pressure are two significant reasons why many people tend to a unhealthy diet even though they know it’s unhealthy. Efforts should be made to change this status quo. Otherwise, this unhealthy habit on such a big scale is surely a recipe for disaster.