Many people nowadays are overspending and not saving money for their future. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative trend?

There is a growing trend where many people prefer to spend their money instead of accumulating it. I personally regard this shift as entirely negative, given that it brings significant long-term challenges, particularly leading to financial instability and psychological issues for individuals.

A main concern related to wasting money is economic vulnerability for many people. With people investing money that they need for any unnecessary things, they have no reserves left for unexpected situations and services such as illness and unemployment. The consequences of this are not confined to accumulating debts but also extend to maxed-out credit limits, ultimately making it difficult to live a stable life. A prime example is many people who are upgrading their car or house, which means financial liabilities instead of building assets, so they are living paycheck to paycheck. In this regard, wasting money on unimportant items places a significant financial strain on the individual’s life.

Another significant key reason for overspending funds is cause some psychological health issues. Since such budget overspending leads to a cycle of consumers’ remorse and anxiety about their financial future, they often contribute to mental health issues such as insomnia and distress. As a result, this not only presents cognitive harms but also reduces a person’s quality of life. A clear case in point is my country, where people take on a vast amount of debt and suffer from constant depression and sleeplessness. In this context, spending money in an uncontrolled way causes severe mental fatigue.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that mismanagement of money is a negative development. This is because it not only shows financial difficulties but also severe emotional impact.