Many people nowadays are overspending and not saving money for their future. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative trend?

Nowadays, overspending is widely spreading between people, especially young generation. While some people assume it’s a positive behaviour, others think it’s not. This essay will discuss the reasons for this issue and highlight why I think it’s a negative trend.

On the one hand, the reasons for this issue are various. In fact, many people are following the herd mentality. For instance, advertisements are pushing women to buy many things just for the feeling of having everything like others. In addition, compulsive buying is a way for some adults to deal with their stresses and loneliness. When a person are experiencing stress and pressure, he buys new things to raise his dopamine instead of exercising or alleviating his stress in another positive way.

On the other hand, there are many negative aspects related to this behavior. Firstly, continuous buying leads to accumulation of many items that are not used and no need for it. This has a negative impact not only on the person himself, but also on the whole environment. For example, it threatens the ecological system. Secondly, causes a hollow circle of working and spending without saving for the future or emergencies, which also leads to increasing stress.

In conclusion, while this issue is widely spreaded due to the belief that this will decrease stress and improve moods, I think that this practice will increase it; thus they will need to work a lot to compensate for what they spent. In my opinion, shopping addiction is so negative that media should raise awareness about it to minimize this phenomenon.