Many people say that globalisation and the growing number of multinational companies have a negative effect on the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your position.

Most individuals today say that the interconnectivity of the world and the establishment of multinational companies across the globe has resulted to an adverse effect on the environment. Of which I strongly agree with this, due to the fact that these companies leverage on the nations that have weak policies in regard to pollution. In addition, through globalisation many plants by the same company have been planted in different countries resulting to an increase the in overall degradation of nature.

In most cases when firms are expanding their plants they seldom set them up in regions with weak regulations.I watched on the news, a well known African company called Kwanu from Zambia, had decided to move their firms from Kenya and South Africa to DRC and Togo. Upon investigation it was found that they moved because these nations had less strict rules in regard to carbon emission. This clearly shows how globalisation causes environmental degradation.

Furthermore, firms use the opportunity that comes with globalisation to there level best. By entering every market, which makes them have many plants across the world. Meaning in this age of interconnectivity there are parent companies and sub-companies everywhere. This increases the overall destruction made to nature on earth. I read in an article, a study by some Princeton students found that the main reason why there is increase in damage made to nature now than a century ago is as a result of globalization, companies are establishing too many plants which is causing pollution and a decline of nature on earth.

In the 21st century globalization and multinational firms in the world has caused environmental damage on earth. Which is very true, this is due to the establishing of companies in areas of weak environmental rules and also due to the result of interconnection that makes companies plant many firms across the world.