Many people say that universities should only offer places to young student with the highest marks, while others say they should accept people of all ages, even if they did not do well at school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are some debates on whether college should only accept students with excellent performance in high school or embrace all the eligible student who want to go to campus. While it may be easier for students with excellent grade to comprehend what being taught in college, it is also important to generate an equal chance of high education for all youngsters from different background.

On one hand, college may think that students with excellent grade will be easier to comprehend what they study in university. This is because those students already have a better ability to understand a lesson than the others at their age. Furthermore, accepting students with high level intelligence will likely guarantee those colleges to produce high quality graduate student. For example, Harvard or Stanford University must have a certain level of criteria to accept only students with well-enough academic performance.

However, on the other side of a coin, accepting only a few high marked students will create disparity among society from different classes. To be put simply, the smart will become even smarter and the dumb will perform even worse. That is the reason why most of the university accept any eligible adolescent who want to continue their study, even sometimes they are willing to waive the tuition fee. In addition to this, many nations also encourage their young people to continue their study after graduate from high school by offering a variety of scholarship. They do this to make sure there will be an equally educated people across the nation, which was also aligned with one of the Sustainable Development Goals that was highlighted by the United Nations.

In conclusion, even though teaching high marked students is easier task to do, creating an equal chance of getting a high education sounds a wiser choice because to generate an equally educated people may lead to a better future of one nation.