Many people say that universities should only offer places to young student with the highest marks, while others say they should accept people of all ages, even if they did not do well at school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While one school of thought holds that tertiary education should be limited to high school students graduating with excellent academic results, others are of the opinion that it is essential for third-level education to be accessible to students of all educational backgrounds. Despite acknowledging some arguments advocating the latter statement, I firmly believe that only students with the highest marks entering university can exert more long-term benefits on societal development.

Granted, one might point out that when higher education is open to all students, the government can enhance the living standards of individuals with underprivileged backgrounds. That seems reasonable since access to tertiary education might allow those learners to approach quality education which can lead them to getting high-paid jobs in their later life. However, this line of reasoning overlooks the potential advantages of only admitting high-level students to attend universities. Once the government can determine comprehensive individuals, they can directly invest in those personnel whose abilities can generate long-term development for the country This policy might promote the nation’s position in the global market due to a trustworthy, high-quality workforce.

Those championing the merits of the accessibility to third-level education for all young learners also emphasize that equal opportunities to participate in higher education can assure the stable advancement of society as it can prevent social problems such as crimes, and economic crises. Nevertheless, this thinking fails to mention that when only allowing students with outstanding marks to attend tertiary education can generally improve the undergraduates’ attainment. As universities exclusively accept students, whose academic outcome is extraordinary, to enroll in their education, students are incentivized to focus more on their learning to become more well-rounded and have the ability to meet the demands of tertiary education’s standards. For example, my mother had been a student with a natural aptitude for maths but she was not good at English, therefore, to be able to register in teacher education, she worked hard to score high on her English exams.

In conclusion, whereas there are justifications for supporting the certain value of third-level educational access to all young learners, I firmly believe that only students with the highest academic results are being accepted to participate in this high-level education due to its long-term profits on national enlargement and general education.