Many people think that higher education should focus on preparing students for specific careers, while others say it should help students develop personal and intellectual growth. Discuss both views аnd give your opinion.

Many people hold differing views on the role of higher education provided to students in universities. Some believe, the main objective of such studies should prepare them for their future careers while others think it must focus more on the cognitive development rather than nudging them for their career. This essay agrees that higher education should focus on job prospects of its learners.

Most universities around the world span its study duration in at least six semesters per degree and they manage to cover a wide range of modules during this period of time. This has an added advantage on the students part to ready themselves for their desired career pathway by the time they graduate. For example, a teacher training university includes modules such as child psychology, prominant educational theories and how to handle students of all ages when they work as a teacher later on in life.

However, some strongly believe that higher education should provide much more since people leave their jobs mid-career which leaves all the training in vain. Thus, they suggest that higher education equip them intellectually and prepare them for all times to come. Whilst this view holds true and justifiable, it might be stressful for the education providers as well as learners to cope up with the vast modules. For instance, a chef trainee will be interested to study about dishes, table manners, delicacies, ingredients and kitchen related knowlege rather than how to dance or teach students in a classroom.

In conclusion, while broadening ones intellectual ability is imperative, it is more important to prepare a student for his work since one of the primary reasons they chose to study in a particular university is because they are interested and want to persue a certain job in the future in which they are truly interested and passionate.