Many people think that mobile phones should be banned in public places such as libraries, shops and public transport. Do you agree or disagree?

There have been recent calls for the regulation of mobile phones in public areas. In my opinion, though this would have a positive effect on social interactions, a complete ban is unrealistic and impractical.

Those in favour of such sweeping reforms can point to reduced communication in society. Look inside any public space, whether it be a library, a store, a bus, or a park, and most likely the majority of individuals will be staring at their phones. This stands in stark contrast to the days before smartphones when people had to resort to talking to each other, or, at worst, reading a book to curb social anxiety. In the last two decades, mobiles have greatly reduced chance encounters, potential friendships, and conversations with both strangers and friends. The long-term effects of this are still unknown but it is safe to say that future generations will be less sociable and dynamic and more isolated and passive.

Nonetheless, banning phones in public is purely theoretical as they have become indispensable. Most jobs require employees to either be available by phone, for example doctors and police officers, or to use their phones throughout the day, as is common with businessmen and lawyers. This means most people must have their phone on them in public places for work reasons. Moreover, phone addiction has reached a point where nearly everyone in public is either messaging, playing a game, reading the news, or scrolling through social media. These have become important escapes for individuals and serve the practical purpose of minimising boredom during breaks and while waiting. Phones are therefore no longer a luxury but a key ingredient in daily life.

In conclusion, despite the impact of phones on social interaction, I believe a ban would interfere too much with ingrained habits. It is instead the responsibility of individuals to police their own behaviour.