Many people think that mobile phones should be banned in public places such as libraries, shops and public transport. Do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals argue that cellular phones need to be restricted in public areas such as libraries, shops and public transport. Although phones can be harmful to some extent, I believe they should remain permitted, as they help to stay in touch with other people and can also be used for important purposes such as emergencies or navigation.

It is true that cell phones can sometimes cause some problems in public areas. When people talk loudly on their phone in places such as libraries and public buses, they are not only causing a lot of noise but also distract and disturb others who are studying or trying to relax. For example a person having an out loud conversation in a library, where most of the people choose to study or prepare for upcoming exams. Therefore, some people think that prohibiting the usage of mobile phones in public space could help maintain a more peaceful environment.

Nevertheless, I would argue that the phones must be banned completely since they offer numerous benefits for our society. Firstly, a large number of individuals rely on mobile phones for essential purposes such as staying in touch with family, friends and colleagues at all times, especially nowadays in our unstable society. Secondly, in extreme situations to call an ambulance or use it for navigation apps in case they get lost or face danger. For instance tourists using their phone to get to their desired destination, for which they have flown to this country. Thus, phones should remain allowed in public places.

In conclusion, phones could cause some issues related to disturbance of personal space in libraries and buses. I,however, think that use of the telephone should be considered acceptable in public venues.