Many people think that museums and galleries should only show work from local artists rather than work from other countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A number of individuals argue that museums and galleries need to present only works from local artists rather than foreigners. Personally, I disagree with the idea that museums and galleries need to exist only with works from residents, because I believe that other factors are equally important.

On the one hand, it is true that museums and galleries should keep only regional artists’ work. Demonstrating only local arts in the exhibitions would represent the tradition and culture of this region. When someone comes from abroad to visit the city and observes museums, they can understand the regulations and history of this place. Another benefit is that tourists can understand more detail about the artist. While someone learns about the artist from afar, it is difficult to feel the artist. When it comes to their own place, visitors can visit the artist’s hometown and gain much more information and feelings.

Nevertheless, I believe that museums and galleries should represent works from foreign artists. Firstly, not all people can afford to see artists’ art. For instance, I want to see works of famous artists, but I cannot go abroad; therefore, if my local museum presents this art, I can easily observe it. Secondly, the artists will become famous. By spreading artists’ works to museums and galleries from around the world, artists gain popularity and it helps them to earn more.

In conclusion, while some individuals claim that museums and galleries should represent only works from local artists, I remain convinced that there needs to be art from abroad.