Many people think that the main purpose of schools is to turn children into good citizens and workers, rather than to benefit them as individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people are of the opinion that schools principally aim to make children become good residents and employees, which is more beneficial for society than for children themselves. Personally, I could only agree with this statement to a certain extent, and my reasons will be explained below.

On the one hand, it is true that turning adolescents into morally good citizens and knowledge-based workers is one of the main goals of schools. Since education helps develop children’s thinking and equip them with essential skills, it has a significant role in training next generations for society. Economically, schools provide an ample supply of competent and educated human resources, laying the foundation for the shift of the nation’s economy. Socially, education helps children build moral values that fit the social framework, leads them to the right path, and thereby make them become decent people in the future. From a broader perspective, this can help reduce the rate of juvenile crime, ensuring the balance and safety of the community.

However, I believe that another purpose of schools is also for the sake of young people. Going to school is not only an obligation established as a tool to maintain the order of society, but also a right offered for every child. The access to education gives children chances to cultivate their knowledge and skills, thus opens doors to many precious opportunities, such as well-paid jobs or high-quality relationships. Moreover, students would be able to take care of themselves on their own by using what they learned in schools. For instance, educated pupils may be more sophisticated in communication, or manage better in emergencies, like when being injured and demanding first-aid skills. Such advantages all help children become a more confident and independent person when they grow up.

In conclusion, schools bring a variety of benefits to individuals and further, to the whole community. It can be said that education plays a vital part in the comprehensive development of both children and society.