Many places in the world rely on tourism as a primary source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that the benefits of tourism outweigh the drawbacks?

In today’s modern life, tourism is popular in many countries and has become a major source of income for them. Meanwhile, there are concerns that it may cause problems if not managed properly. In my opinion, in most cases, the advantages of tourism outweigh the disadvantages.

First of all, tourism could greatly promote the economic development of a country. More specifically, tourists can go wherever they want and spend money as technology improves. These areas are constantly developing and reshaping to receive more and more people, such as building restaurants, hotels, and shops, which also provide employment opportunities for local people. For example, some residents in the Maldives rely on these to sustain their lives. On the other hand, tourism can also help a country spread its culture and establish a good image. Simply put, tourists experience local customs, traditions, food, and art, which helps promote and preserve the uniqueness of local culture. Also, high-quality services and experiences leave an impression and build a good national reputation and image.

However, tourism also has some disadvantages. The increase in tourists will harm nature by destroying grass and making more garbage. In fact, these behaviors only happen sometimes. Studies show that as people become more educated, their quality improves. Even though some bad behaviors still exist, these problems can be easily corrected. For example, the government can make some rules and let tourists obey them, such as fines for littering.

To sum up, tourism’s benefits to a region undoubtedly outweigh its disadvantages since it can promote economic development and spread culture.