Many students choose to study at colleges and universities that are far away from the places where they grew up. Do the benefits of this outweigh the drawbacks?

Many high school graduates tend to pursue a major at a university that is distant from their hometown. Although studying far from home can result in homesickness and financial burden, I believe that the merits outweigh the demerits because students can develop independence and build a wider network.

On the one hand, those who enroll in a course in a distant town often face homesickness. This is because youngsters have grown up getting accustomed to living with their relatives, and when they move out to live apart, it is nearly impossible for them to avoid lonely moments and missing their family members. The financial burden is another drawback they might encounter. They no longer reside with their parents, and thus students need to cover their own accommodation and daily expenses, such as transport, and food. For example, in Vietnam, many students coming from low-income families in the countryside move to Ho Chi Minh City to pursue higher education, but they struggle to pay for the high living costs. However, I believe that most students can survive financially by taking a part-time job, and these obstacles serve as a stepping stone for students to become independent.

On the other hand, the striking benefit of studying in a far-off place is that students can be more independent. In other words, as they leave their family and stop receiving help from their parents, students must learn to be self-sufficient by cooking for themselves, and solve problems without parental guidance. This can result in them being more self-reliant and being more mature. Another advantage is that far-away colleges often offer better programs and career opportunities not available near home. This is due to some prestigious universities often being located farther from where most students live, and they have stronger reputations with professors, and research and internship programs, which translate to better job prospects for graduates. For instance, a report conducted in 2017 by the Geography of College Opportunity project found that top-ranked universities located farther from students’ homes provide graduates with significantly higher earning potential due to their prestige, quality programs, and resources. Therefore, I would argue that the merits of studying away from home outshine the demerits.

To conclude, traveling to a distant place to study might be temporarily challenging for those who have just left their childhood home and have limited financial conditions, yet the benefits of becoming independent and accessing better programs far outweigh the drawbacks.