Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, students prefer to take a gap year after their graduation. However, it could lead to unpleasant consequences such as a lack of motivation or the fall behind the curriculum, the pros outweigh the cons and provide numerous benefits like travelling and gaining useful skills.

One significant upside of a gap year is valuable experience. Students could travel around the world and expand their worldview, which could impact a future career and contribute to their exact desires of life. For example, youngsters could apply for the exchange program such as FLEX and other organisations, which provides students an opportunity to develop in English countries through communication with other foreign students and being involved in international projects. Additionally, a gap year could benefit students’ physical and mental health, as it saves a vast amount of energy, allows them to relax and draw attention to themselves and overall wellbeing.

On the other hand, gap year could be the core drawback. One severe disadvantage is that students may lose interest in studying and in achieving their goals. While being away from education and job during a year youngsters could give up on their ambitions and face an issue of keeping developing and gaining skills. For instance, one of my acquaintances has encountered difficulties with laziness and inadequate motivation to pass entrance exams to the University of Cambridge. In addition, a gap year may cause a severe problem with understanding new material, which completely affects your GPA and leads to falling behind the curriculum.

In conclusion, while a gap year benefits students’ health and gains significant experience, it could also contribute to the serious consequences such as the shortage of motivation and risk of poor academic performance. Therefore, youngsters ought to weigh all the pros and cons before making a final decision to take a year off.