Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

Everyone has their own ways of pursuing a career in their field. A large number of students decide to take time off after graduating from high school, in order to go on a journey or to collect knowledge from working. Personally, I think it is a great chance for them to get prepared for university, but if they do not exploit this opportunity properly, it would be a waste of time. In this essay, I will discuss both positive and negative effects of taking a gap year.

Starting going to work or traveling right after finishing high school could be more challenging for students than just enrolling in a university. At this moment, they tend to get involved in a job that they are not interested in. In particular, due to the lack of professional skills for the job they actually want to do, which can be obtained by studying at university. Similarly, students who have just completed high school may be a little immature for a long trip. They could make unconsidered decisions during the trip, for example, spending too much money on unnecessary items or doing things that are not related to their targets.

However, there are so many promising outcomes for those who choose to spend this one year making a journey or begin working. To begin with, it is an unexpected opportunity to learn some new languages. Because students have to talk with natives, so they would naturally come into their minds without forced memorizing. Moreover, going to new places, meeting new people could help them train their communication skills. Another way to gain soft skills is to start working. Obviously, these skills are extremely useful for pupils when they enter university or apply for their future jobs. As they must more or less undergo some difficult situations at work, their problem-solving skills and adaptability will develop noticeably.

In conclusion, although the path of traveling somewhere else or getting experiences throughout the gap year has its advantages and disadvantages, the benefits seem to be more prominent. This is the reason why there are so many students toss the drawbacks aside to temporarily pause their process of academic education.