Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, children go through a lot of stages to take their bac exam and start a new experience at university. Many students think that it is a good idea to take a gap year before going to university, while others argue that they have to begin their studies immediately after getting their bac.

Firstly, there are several advantages to this subject. One of the main advantages of taking a gap year before beginning at university is gives students time to think carefully and ask about the major because it determines the future of the learners. For example, someone who wants to become a doctor, he asks himself if he love this major and can give all his power to succeed in this field. Moreover, taking a gap year allows to the student to be more mature and independent because in university, especially for those living alone, he has to learn how to deal with all the situation like saving money for some emergency, how to deal with your needs and being self-reliant.

Secondly, there are multiple disadvantages of having a gap year. loss of academic focus because it can be difficult to return to academic life after a long break. For instance, someone who wants to study in the major of medicine will forget the basics of the science. In addition, starting university later may delay your graduation and start your work, you will not begin earlier to make money and put all your information into the work and practice what you learn in all the master’s degrees.

To conclude, both advantages and disadvantages have some categories that they are convinced about in their opinion; it depends on the pupil and his or her way of thinking.