Many things that used to be done in the home by hands are now being done by machines. Does this development bring more advantages or disadvantages?

Nowadays, many tasks that require physical labor can be done by automation. This has led to people living comfortable and convenient lifestyles, while eliminating job options for house-sitting and house care. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of these technological advancements on house assistance.

Regarding lifestyle, many modern facilities include automated household appliances, that reduces manual work. In luxurious houses, furniture such as cupboards and drawers includes sensors, where a handwave will automatically open them. These technologies increase the accessibility for users that are unable to open with traditional handles. Additionally, appliances such as air conditioners and smart fridges include detection devices that help them adjust temperature of the room or inside the fridge. For instance, when the temperature for air conditioning is set to 25 degrees Celsius, the equipment will stop the use of cold air and maintain the temperature once it reaches 25 degrees.

On the other hand, these appliances can be a problem if their sensors break. This smart equipment heavily rely on their detections to make decisions and if these detection devices break the whole equipment can become unusable. Moreover, the improved alarm systems in the modern facilities can ensure that the houses are protected from threats, when the owners are away. Using these systems, house care services are no longer needed for many houses. For instance, advanced door cameras allow the owners to check their home remotely and allow them to communicate with deliveries using built-in speakers.

In conclusion, although these devices bring convenience and benefits to the homeowners, they also have risks of single point failure where their functions fail if a detection sensor breaks.