Many young people do not spend their holidays and weekends doing outdoor activities like hiking and climbing in natural environments. Why is this the case? How can they be encouraged to go out?

Outdoor activities such as going on a hike or trekking have fallen out of favor among younger generation. This issue can be attribtued to the prevalence of sedentary lifestyle along with severe academic pressure young people nowadays face. There are, however, ways to promote such activities among the youth.

One clear reason why not many youngsters are willing to take part in outdoor hobbies is their passive lifestyles. The majority of young people have lately become hooked on passive hobbies like palying video games, watching TV and surfing the internet. As a result, the less they move, the lazier and more reluctant they become to spend time outdoors. However, it is easy to lay all the blame on young people themselves. Academic pressure and competition they face might also be limiting their chances to be outdoors. Students these days have to take many exams and meet deadlines at schools and universities. This issue is compounded by univeristy entrance becoming more competitive than ever. Obviously, to meet such pressures, they are having to spend long hours, wekkends and even their holidays studying and preparing for exams, having very little opportunity to do outdoor hobbies.

Nevertheless, young people can be encouraged to participate in such activities in several ways. One solution could be for universities and schools to organize group trips to natural places like park or mountains. When teachers go on such trips together, students are likely to want to be part of them. Another creative way to deal with this issue might be to hold part of natural sciences like biology in outdoor settings. This not only gives young people the chance to be outdoors but also may increase their fascination with such places.

In conclusion, young people nowadays are less willing to do activites like climbing or hiking mainly due to passive lifestyle becoming more common and academic pressure they face. Group trips by schools and conducting biology lessons partly in nature might help to address this problem.