Many young people do not spend their holidays and weekends doing outdoor activities like hiking and climbing in natural environments. Why is this the case? How can they be encouraged to go out?

In this complex information age, adolescents spend their breaks mostly indoors instead of doing outdoor activities, such as hiking and climbing in the nature. While this phenomenon has been occurring mainly because of the development of virtual world and lack of knowledge, we can inspire them to go out by limiting their devices and teaching the importance of being out.

Chief among the causes of this trend is the significant progress of the social globe. Internet platforms either online games or communication apps, such as Instagram and Facebook have made it easy to obtain a vast amount of relax and dopamine, which have been previously took by doing sports and adventures. As a result of this many teenagers prefer to boost their energy by spend their time through scrolling though the screen and playing games with especially friends without much effort. Another fundamental reason of this that young people have not realized the benefits of spending time in the natural environments yet. Perhaps teaching young individuals about the advantages of doing gentle sports like swimming and surfing is often seen as not important for society.

In order to mitigate this global isolation, I deem that its root causes should be addressed. From my own perspective, the most effective method of doing this is would be introducing limits to technologies, like smartphone and computer. By doing this, we can achieve the grow adolescents’ interest in outdoor sports and they may even abandon from social word. Another further measure can be educating teenagers about the significance of being in nature. A clear illustration for this is that spending time outdoors has a remarkable influence on our health, such as it really assists us to reduce stress and anxiety, and it can also boost our energy and motivation. For instance, my close teenager friend Alex, who is famous software designer goes to natural places, with mountains for escaping from his busy schedule and get some strength for his job regularly.

By way of conclusion, I reckon that spending time indoor rather than being out is clearly a problem of such complexity that no solution is likely in the short term. Nonetheless, I believe being strict about screen time, as well as teaching young people about the importance of doing sports on our health would constitute an extremely good first step.