Medical professionals such as doctors and nurses from poor countries often migrate to richer countries to work. What problems arise from this situation? What measure can be taken to deal with it?

Over the years, a lot of people linked to the medical profession tend to leave their poverty-stricken native countries and move to wealthier places in order to get a better job. There are several reasons associated with this trend which causes a variety of problems in their countries. However, there are viable measures which can be implemented by the government to tackle this issue.

Firstly, people taking such steps are insecure due to the social and political conditions of their country. This is to say that they are unsure if they will be able to find an appropriate job with the respectable salary to justice their hard work and profession. Moreover, the significant problem associated with such a step effects nationwide. The country faces the loss of good doctors, which eventually worsens the whole medical system. It has been reported by the department of health sciences in South Asia that 80% of their medical graduates tend to work for Middle Eastern countries due to the best career opportunities they offer. Consequently, this imposes a threat on their own medical departments.

There are two effective solutions to the problem of migrating medical professionals. One way to tackle this situation is for the government to ensure stability within the job sector. In other words, people should get jobs on the basis of merit and there should be enough career opportunities provided to them. Another method to deal with this situation is to give them sufficient perks to stay back in their native home town. Keeping in mind the medical professionals and how challenging their job is, they should be offered good salaries equivalent to their worth, like the other countries do.

To conclude, while there are problems associated with the trend of migrating, they can be solved by taking a long term approach. Our government has a crucial part to play in restoring the talent within their country by securing their future through good jobs and handsome salaries.