Medical professionals such as doctors and nurses from poor countries often migrate to richer countries to work. What problems arise from this situation? What measure can be taken to deal with it?

In this day and age, many medical experts tend to leave the home countries for wealthier ones in pursuit of better employment opportunities. This phenomenon could lead to several problems in the medical services of developing nations and several measures could be taken to tackle this concern.

The loss of professionals linked to medical field could result in two major issues. One main problem relates to the increased workload for the remaining staff. Due to the shortage of medical employees, the non-migrant professionals might have to be in charge of more responsibities to make up for the empty positions of their migrants counterparts, which might lead to national overload in the medical system. Additionally, this trend could potentially lead to the degradation of healthcare services in third world countries due to the lack of skilled medical experts who dedicate their time and talent to enhance the quality of their national medical sector. This might lead to the decrease in innovations and breakthroughs in treatment method, which might adversely effect the residents’ general health as a whole.

Governments of these developing nations should take immediate actions to mitigate this situation. To begin with, the authorities should introduce laws and regulations allowing people earn the occupation in the basis of merits and there should be enough promotion opportunities for all of them. Another effective solution is to increase the salaries of medical professionals, including doctors and nurses. Considering the challenges and the enormous amount of workloads they have to cope with, they should be paid with salaries equivalent to their contribution and worth.

In conclusion, the migration trend in medical field could negatively effect third world countries in several aspects. However, several solutions could be implemented to remedy this problem.