Medical professionals such as doctors and nurses from poor countries often migrate to richer countries to work. What problems arise from this situation? What measure can be taken to deal with it?

The migration of healthcare professionals from developing countries to wealthier states is a global phenomenon that needs to be addressed. Medical professionals often prefer to migrate to developed countries for professional growth, better living conditions and flexible working hours. The poor countries not only face brain drain, but this exodus of talent has repercussions on public health, resulting in a high mortality rate and spread of diseases. This essay will discuss the issues that lead to the migration of medical professionals from poor countries and discuss possible solutions for mitigation.

Developing states are facing a multitude of problems within the healthcare system, due to insufficient technology and a lack of human resources. The trained professionals often choose to take up residence in the wealthier states owing to the perks and privileges they offer. The primary reason for moving to first-world countries is the better living standard and professional advancement that is not possible to achieve at home. To illustrate, the advanced nations often have flexible working hours and better salary packages that attract skilled professionals. Secondly, social services like education, health and sanitation and transport are far better in developed nations. Hence, the third world countries often lack these facilities and services, leading to the exodus of talent.

The healthcare providers choose their benefits over the welfare of their fellow countrymen, which results in misery and diseases in poor countries. For instance, in Sub-Saharan Africa, the high mortality rate for preventable diseases is very high due to the lack of doctors, as most of the healthcare providers have left the country for better opportunities abroad. Consequently, the country is facing detrimental impacts, such as deteriorating public health and brain drain. To mitigate these effects, the developing countries should formulate a new policy that offers incentives for these professionals. For example, better salary packages, flexible working hours, health and educational allowances and a better working environment. Furthermore, international organisations and universities should give incentives, for instance, offering scholarships for doctors in exchange for a commitment to return home after getting professional degrees and training.

To conclude, the exodus of professionals from impoverished nations has serious repercussions on public health, and it will drain the talent from these poor countries, which are already facing challenges in the health and public sectors. However, international organisations and developing countries must collaborate to offer more incentives for doctors and nurses to motivate these professionals to stay at home and serve their people.