Modern buildings change the character and appearance of towns and cities. The government should insist that new buildings be built in traditional styles to protect cultural identity. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays it is commonly thought that architechture has a significant impact on settlements and modern style of buildings influences character of cities. Thus, some people suppose that it is vital for governments to preserve the traditions in building habits to save the local culture and unique customs of the area. Personally, I reckon that such measures as preservation of old style in modern cities has its own drawnbacks and advantages simultaneously.

It is clear that traditional style in architechture is an extremely important feature of every culture worldwide that can introduce the history of the area and even show the values of the people that are living in the exact place. Therefore, it really can support the identity of the territory and people, because it has strong connections with the development of people of the region. Usually old style of houses shows the artisic opportunities of the people who lived in this area, which is actually a vital part of cultural identity. This permanent illustration of customs of ancestors can be a quite significant reminder for modern people about the values of their folk culture, thus, it can promote and support cultural identity in society.

Although old style in architechture can crucially help to maintain the culture, it still can be not accepted by the citizens and be unconvenient for the develpment of the high technologies that are so widely-spread in the settlements in today’s world. Moreover, nowadays lots of buildiings are alredy built in the modern style, so the only way to introduce the traditional appearance is to mix these both styles which are on the contrary to each other. Such thing will not be great for the city in overall, because the atmosphere will be ruined and the view will be strange in generall.

To conclude, introduction of old style in architechture in the modern cities is a double-edged sword. It can support the local culture, though, it can still spoil the settlement’s appearance due to the mix of two different styles.