Modern buildings change the character and appearance of towns and cities. The government should insist that new buildings be built in traditional styles to protect cultural identity. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many modern buildings are appearing in our cities. Some people think that the government should force builders to use traditional styles to keep our culture. In my opinion, I disagree with this idea because modern buildings are more comfortable and cheaper.

First of all, traditional buildings are often very expensive to build. They use old materials like stone or special wood, which costs a lot of money. Also, these buildings are not always good for the environment. On the other hand, modern buildings use new technology. For example, they have better windows and walls that keep the heat inside. This helps people save money on electricity and protects nature.

Secondly, our life today is different from the past. We have more people in cities now, so we need tall buildings like apartments. Traditional styles are usually small and cannot hold many people. If we only build in old styles, there will not be enough space for everyone to live. Also, architects want to try new ideas. If the government says “no” to modern designs, cities will look boring and the same.

However, I think it is important to keep some old buildings. We should protect the history in the center of the city so tourists can visit them. But for new houses and offices, we should use modern styles because they are more useful for daily life.

In conclusion, I do not agree that all new buildings must be traditional. Traditional styles are beautiful, but modern buildings are necessary for a growing city and for a comfortable life.