Modern buildings change the character and appearance of towns and cities. The government should insist that new buildings be built in traditional styles to protect cultural identity. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, Modern architecture has changed the way cities and towns used to look previously. It is believed that government authorities should imply the traditional style to newly built buildings. In my opinion, these buildings should have their own modern style as they fulfill today’s demands and fosters diversity in a city.

Firstly, with the recent population growth, there is an urgent need to build higher buildings in order to accommodate the increase. Traditional architecture is focused on simplicity and low stories. This style no longer serves the community as the demand for homes has increased, along with limited land space. Not only is there a population increase, but also cars have increased significantly in number. These vehicles require parking spaces which demand vast land area. Modern buildings are modified to have underground parking lots which are not found in older architecture. Therefore, making them a more practical option as they have the capacity to accommodate population increase.

Beyond functionality, contemporary buildings provide diversity in a city. Residents and visitors would prefer to have a variety of sceneries as they are moving around the streets. This will allow them to have unique experiences throughout the city, such as vintage coffee shops and boutiques to sophisticated shopping malls on another side. A visual representation of this trend is seen in London, where historical buildings are preserved and taken care of, and other modern part of city contains skyscrapers.

In conclusion, although old buildings carry cultural identity, in contrast, I believe that modern building is more beneficial to the society.