Modern buildings change the character and appearance of towns and cities. The government should insist that new buildings be built in traditional styles to protect cultural identity. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a widely held view that as the majority of contemporary buildings quite alter the character as well as appearance of cities and towns, the government should insist that new constructions be built according to traditions of a country so the identity of a culture does not vanish. Personally, while I acknowledge that cultural identity should be preserved, I also believe that it should be selective.

On the one hand, there has been no shortage of buildings with modern appearance in many nations, which makes it difficult to find in which country they were built. However, by doing this, builders will inevitably lose the cultural identity, which has been earned within centuries. Uzbekistan is an obvious example of this, where constructions marking the traditional style of the country have become extremely rare in the past years. In order to prevent this in other countries, individuals whose job is to construct should realize that it is more reasonable to avoid building too many structures without traditional styles.

On the other hand, it is advisable not to push building companies because everyone must have own choices. Governments should somehow encourage them to include traditional styles, by making tournaments, in which the building with the most similar style would get a certain amount of money as a prize. If it is done, not only would governments be satisfied, but there would be an opportunity for those who construct to earn extra money and compete with others.

In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that although conserving cultural identity is crucial, it should be implemented in a positive way instead of pushing builders.