more and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people think a solution can be to increase the price of fattening foods . to what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been observed that in today’s world, many people are becoming seriously overweight or even obese. Some people believe that increasing the price of unhealthy foods such as fast foods, soft drinks and sugary snacks, could help solve this problem. I partly agree with this view, but it is not a complete solution.

On the one hand, raising the price of unhealthful foods can reduce its consumption. In addition, when the price of junk foods increases then individuals think twice after buying it. For instance, when price of sugary drinks higher more than fresh juices or water , people may prefer to choose healthier drink. Moreover, growing prices can discourage childern and teenagers from regularly buying chocolates, chips etc. Therefore, government can use extra tax money to promote physical programs, build sport facilities and educate people about balanced diet. Futhermore, increase in the price of unhealthful diet have positive effects on population’s health.

On the other hand, I believe that price alone cannot solve this problem. Additionally, many people eat unhealthy food not only because it is cheap, but also because it is convenient and tasty.Subsequently, busy workers and students prefer to eat readymade foods because it saves time. Similarly, low-income families may prefer to choose junk food even it is expensive because healthy food is not available in nearby areas. Hence, without proper education about nutrition and importance of exercise, people cannot change their habits.

In a nutshell, higher costs of fast foods can be helpful, but it should be combined with other measures. Although, society can reduce the obesity problems effectively by taking steps together.