More and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this trend?

In an era characterized by advanced technology and the widespread prevalence of social platforms, it has become increasingly common for people of all ages to choose e-books rather than physical books. While this situation has undeniable drawbacks linked to a multitasking environment and overall well-being, its advantages related to portability and cost availability are much more important.

The widespread availability of e-books can bring several serious issues related to distraction while reading/multitasking and human health. If people spend more time reading digital books, they develop a habit of frequent screen use, which then becomes habitual. They start reading on multifunctional devices such as phones and tablets, thereby switching between reading and notification or other apps. As a result, these interruptions break their concentration and reduce reading efficiency, which subsequently leads to several health issues, such as eye strain or mental fatigue.

Despite these concerns, I believe that reading electronic books can offer clear, portability and cost efficiency benefits, if used wisely. First of all, when people utilize e-books, they can store hundreds of books on a single device and it can help to save space and avoid heavy bags, spending less physical labor to carry heavy books. As a result, less money is spent because digital version of books are cheaper than printed books, this convenience encourages people to read more frequently and it becomes more accessible for everyone.

In conclusion, although digital books can cause certain health issues and distractions while reading. The ability to carry more books at the same time and purchasing them at lower price can be convenient and affordable for more people.