More and more people are choosing to work from home with the help of technology. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development ?

Many people are preferring to work remotely with the assistance of advanced technology. Although, work-life balance can be seen as an advantage, it also comes with certain drawbacks related to personal skills.

One of the main advantage of working at home is equal in work and personal life. To be more precise, when the employees are working in their own places, they can give enough time to their family members. They can understand the feeling of their children, wife and others, also by continuing office works at the same time. With this condition, employees can alleviate stress and can get better outcome in both areas. For instance, during the COVID-19 pandemic my father taught his students through the zoom platform. That help him to give time for us as well as his students. Therefore, virtual work can be beneficial for employees to manage family and office.

However, there are several disadvantages ot this decision. The most significant one is the lack of interpersonal skills. As most of the works are done through the online platforms, there is only few communication between workers. As a result, they cannot be confident and their team work is highly at stake. Also, isolated from office environment leads members to difficult in synergy and unable to understand team member feeling. For example, most of the United Nations(UN) workers are working remotely from home, as a result most of the neplease UN employees are struggle during large conference and team synergy. Thus, lack of personal skills are illustrated as a detrimental development.

In conclusion, despite the fact that utilization of online platforms can be beneficial for satisfying both home and office, restrictions on human skills pose a drawback.