More and more people are choosing to work from home with the help of technology. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development ?

Nowadays, some companies are creating opportunities for those who intend to work from home. This essay will focus on the possible positive and negative aspects of this tendency.

Not having to commute to work may bring about increased time-efficiency and higher productivity for certain types of people. With people working at their homes, the need to spend much time just for transportation ceases to exist. Recent research has indicated that an average person spends about an hour daily, to go from home to the office, and vice versa. As this trend becomes more popular, this additional time every day might be allocated for further quality work or personal recreation. Besides, certain people, introverts for instance, are the most motivated and productive when they are working in isolation. Social circles and peer-pressure might lead them to unnecessary mental fatigue, lowering the quality of the work if they are otherwise in the office.

However, a negative shift in exposure to the office environment and people with the same ambitions might have an unfavorable impact on work approaches. Offices are specifically designed to create the atmosphere for extracting the highest value from work. Individuals may struggle to replicate these characteristics for themselves and face issues like distractions and being less willing to work for many demanding hours. Additionally, pressure and supervision by colleagues and managers would likely mean employees are less prone to waste their time on futile tasks. These are nonexistent inside domestic conditions, meaning more is dependent on self-regulation.

In conclusion, the recent rise in working remotely offers various benefits and drawbacks, depending on personal traits. While less social engagement at work may benefit some people, it might be the reason for lowered effectiveness for others.