More and more people are leaving the countryside and going to cities nowadays. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

n many countries, an increasing number of people are choosing to live by themselves than they did in the past. I believe this is a negative development because these people cannot grasp the opportunity to build social skills and fall into vulnerable conditions in times of emergency assistance.

When individuals live alone, they do not share living spaces with cohabitants. This means it can shrink considerable opportunities for people to develop and exercise social skills essential for effective communication and collaboration. In consequence, individuals may face challenges in establishing enduring interpersonal relationships or difficulty in navigating social situations. A recent study, for instance, finds that young adults who live on their own lack the necessary social skills than those who share their living space because living alone causes enormous stress on the acquisition of social skills, such as camaraderie, compromise, and conflict resolution.

Likewise, living alone may also prove to be highly vulnerable in times of emergency. That is to say, individuals may find it challenging to handle emergencies or unexpected situations without immediate assistance. This can create considerable stress and inculcate a sense of insecurity. By way of illustration, an elderly individual living alone without close family members may experience grave difficulties in times of urgent medical help. He might struggle to seek help or receive emergency care, and therefore delayed assistance may exacerbate his condition.

To conclude, I believe the growing trend of living alone is disadvantageous as these individuals fail to take the opportunity of sharing accommodation with others, and it leaves them vulnerable to social and emergencies as well.