More and more people in developing countries are purchasing cars for the first time. What problems does this cause? What do you think are the possible solutions?

In recent times, it has become increasingly common for individuals to purchase their first cars, especially in developed countries. While this situation is likely to cause economic and social changes, I firmly believe that a combination of governmental policies and individual’s efforts is essential to deal with this problem.

From a critical perspective, purchasing cars in an economically prosperous and technologically savvy country such as the USA and Germany poses serious threats for families who live in precarious financial circumstances. When people buy a car for their daily commutes, they need to pay high taxes to the government and are likely to face monetary constraints like extra fees for parking and automobile servicing, which disproportionately affects middle and low-income families. As a result, this can encourage many people to juggle multiple responsibilities such as studying and working, and find side hustles to supplement their car expenses, thereby straining household budgets. In a world where many people struggle with covering life expenses, purchasing their own cars tends to offer some problems when it comes to paying extra fees for cars.

To address the problem of buying cars, the government should take responsibility for reducing the number of vehicles on the road and focus on implementing new rules to enhance commuting systems. This can be accomplished by increasing the number of public transport, such as buses and trams for daily commutes, raising the cost of automobiles, creating accessible roads for bicycles and walkers, teaching people to use public transport instead of private cars, developing online working, and requiring congestion charges to enter the city center. Without the implementation of these changes, many people continue to purchase private cars and remain indifferent to public transport, which leads to traffic jams in many countries.

In conclusion, although purchasing cars can lead to profound problems for low-income families, I believe that the government can effectively address this issue by improving the public transport system and encouraging people to rely less on private cars.