More and more people nowadays visit well-known places to take photographs of themselves, without looking at the place. Why do you think this is happening? Is it a positive or a negative trend?

It is often argued that people are interested in taking pictures of themselves rather than the places they visit. I contemplate that the reason behind this is the addiction of posting photos on social media platforms and consider this a negative trend.

The advent of cutting-edge technology has transformed our lives, making individuals addicted to posting their daily life routines on social media platforms so that they can promote their pages by increasing their likes and followers. These people take a selfie when they visit any renowned places and put it on social media applications for their friends to like and comment; as a consequence, they usually feel content with the positive reactions they get online and also gain profits. For instance, many people, who call themselves influencers, are posting their photos on Instagram only for the purpose of increasing their likes so that their page gets monetized.

However, people are persistently focused on photography when they visit any famous places, and this is considered to be a negative trend. In today’s world, taking own photographs instead of admiring the intricate designs of historic places, relaxing and rejuvenating in the park, and learning about the history of museums has become a thing of the past. For example, people used to visit a restaurant to eat and have a good time with their family members, but now, they are visiting to take a picture of their food and share it with their friends and family.

In conclusion, clicking pictures while visiting a well-known place and posting it online has become a common feature among people so that they can monetize from it. It is a negative trend due to the fact that they are uninterested in looking at the place. This can be mitigated if the government bans all electronic devices before entering the premises.