More and more people nowadays visit well-known places to take photographs of themselves, without looking at the place. Why do you think this is happening? Is it a positive or a negative trend? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In contemporary society, several tourists go sightseeing and take photographs rather than watching the place. I believe that this is a negative trend and the reason will be further explained in the following paragraphs.

One major reason for this trend is that people are making lives from posting or advertising the destination on Social media. To explain, Social media platforms, including TikTok, Instragram and Twitter, have significantly developed, and those applications have become inseparable to our lives to search for accommodation and travel information. For instance, if influencers post the five-star hotel in TikTok as an advertisement, numerous users might want to visit the place. As a result, influencers can earn money from companies which want to advertise their product or services.

Another primary reason for this negative trend is that a large number of individuals are addicted to posting their daily lives and the places that they visit on social media. In recent years, most young people have their account and they are able to post pictures to show off their experiences to close friends and family. For example, there are historical buildings in Kyoto, Japan, but visitors would like to take self-photos to show off to peers, rather than knowing Japanese old history. As a result, the young generation tends to share the lifestyle with each other all the time.

In conclusion, although some visitors prefer to discover the history of the place, some tourists just take photographs for their professional or personal use. I strongly believe that visiting well-known places without looking at the place is harmful behaviour.