More and more people nowadays visit well-known places to take photographs of themselves, without looking at the place. Why do you think this is happening? Is it a positive or a negative trend? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

When visiting renowned places, a rising number of individuals capture their own pictures rather than enjoying the beauty of the place. This essay will argue that people mostly do it to keep it as a memory, and this is an upward trend due to financial barriers.

During their holidays and vacations, People not just want to travel and admire the beauty of the prominent place, but also make a wonderful reminiscence. Taking a snapshot of the iconic infrastructure/natural beauty along with themselves makes a perfect frame where they can capture both beauty and their faces. They can look at the picture afterwards and resonate with the time and place at their own convenience to cherish these wonderful moments. When I was visiting the Niagara Falls last summer, a lot of people came up to me and asked me to take a snapshot of them. Instead of looking around at the stunning views of the falls, people spend a good chunk of their time taking photographs of them with the falls so that they can keep and share the memory with their loved ones.

Due to the rising cost of traveling, this is observed mostly as an upward trend. During recent years, the pricing of daily commodity are sky high, and people are facing hardship when they try to make ends meet. Even if they manage the funds required to go to a famous place, they want to get the most out of it, just because arranging the same travel again can be a financial challenge. As such, the memories of these journeys become invaluable to them, and they prioritize them over the scenic beauty of the notable place. For instance, people traveling to France are busy taking photographs near the Eiffel Tower rather than enjoying the view of the surrounding area and the architecture, just because the travel cost to Europe is insurmountable and may not be feasible a 2nd time in life.

In conclusion, people visiting well-known places often get occupied in taking selfies and portraits of themselves rather than enjoying the moment because the memory is vital to them, and they may not be able to visit the place a second time in their lives.