More and more universities are replacing face-to-face teaching with online courses. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In today’s fast-paced world, there is an ongoing debate regarding whether the transformation of the traditional education system to online learning is beneficial or not. I consider this trend to be both negative and positive: although it has brought some benefits, several problems also resulted from such shifting.

On the one hand, the move towards online learning has introduced several advantages. One of the major benefits of this approach is in terms of unprecedented flexibility for students. In other words, if students choose online education, they have an opportunity to learn at their own pace compared to others. This is because, some students may not only work, but also study at the same time. However digital platforms which are able to offer a wealth of resources and physical materials can create a suitable learning process for them anytime and anywhere. Therefore, the online way of learning is more crucial because of its recorded lectures and discussion forums. For example, a working adult can complete a university degree without quitting their job. In addition, another important benefit of online courses is regarding its accessibility for remote areas. To explain it, if individuals study far from the university, they are able to attend online lessons without commuting and moving to other areas. This system can eliminate the expenses of accommodation and commuting. As a result, it may be a benefit for some learners who struggle with some financial problems. Take students who live in a remote village of Uzbekistan as a relevant example, they can join online courses offered by well-known universities such as Oxford and Harvard.

In light of these considerations, only relying on online courses may lead to some problems. One major drawback is digital fatigue which stems from staying constantly focused in front of the screen. Staying focused in front of a screen for a long time can lead to weakening the quality of the curriculum. This is because, some subjects such as medicine, engineering and laboratory science are likely to require practical lessons. Without these practices, students can be academically knowledgeable, but they lack practical competencies. As a consequence, this change affects the education system. With regards to the another negative aspect of online teaching is that students may lack interaction. What I mean by this is that if individuals are taught in online courses, they have a tendency to feel isolated from their peers and teachers. This is because university is considered by some as a place that provides students with a vibrant environment. That is why, learners can communicate with each other, share their ideas and get feedback from teachers. If it were not for face-to-face interaction, it may cause the loss of sense of community, controlling and belonging. For instance, there are some students who do not participate in live lessons because of lack of control.

To sum up, although online courses have brought several benefits such as its unprecedented flexibility and accessibility for students who are far from university, there are some drawbacks that should be considered like digital fatigue and lack of interaction.