More companies should employ older people. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It is claimed that companies should give a preference to more mature workers over younger ones. Having more older employees in the workforce would certainly benefit companies but there will also be some drawbacks.

One evident benefit to hiring more mature workers is that they tend to be more loyal to the company. In other words, older people are unlikely to change their jobs as often as their younger competitors due to their awareness of what kind of job they want to do. For example, older people are not prone to change jobs and try something new, that means they are more settled both in lives and jobs. Another reason that older employees would be advantageous is that they would bring valuable knowledge and skills to organizations, helping diversify the workforce. For instance, a manager, who has been in business for many years and knows how to handle a lot of problems with clients, will be more valuable for the organization in comparison to a younger manager with less experience.

However, there are challenges associated with hiring older workers. In fact, salaries tend to increase with growing experience, but it is not necessarily connected with productivity increasing. That means that having employed more older staff will create increased financial burden for a company because higher salaries should be paid. In addition to that, the more people age, the more they experience various health problems. It is not beneficial for any employer causing different issues such as replacing sick workers and providing them sick days.

In conclusion, while there are plus points to having more older workers in the companies, it can pose a serious threat to financial profits of the company. Diversifying the workforce should be in moderation and workers of all ages should be in every company bringing various benefits which might be unique for every age.