Most career choices demand vocational skills or specialist knowledge however, despite this, most schools and still teach academic subjects such as history or social studies. Discuss the advantage and disadvantage of this.

In the current time, professional skills are demanding for any field, while in schools, academic subjects still are taught in the curriculum. The main advantage of school subjects is the opportunity for students to improve critical mindset, meanwhile the disadvantage is that in most educational places, there are no suitable courses for some professions.

On the one hand, the main advantage of an academic curriculum is that it develops student’s critical thinking abilities. There are academic projects, problem-solving exercises, in class discussions and teamworks that require students to analyze the information. Additionally, it helps them to create arguments and draw logical conclusions. Moreover, except for students’ own thoughts, they can analyze from different points of views. For instance, debates in history make them find proper arguments for any topic and logical examples. Furthermore, students may analyze opponents’ arguments and critically assess them.

On the other hand, most schools do not allow students to select subjects that they need for their career. All adolescents in these types of schools have a common schedule, since they cannot have personal timing for classes. They must visit all courses, even in high school, which are considered mandatory in these educational institutions. For example, in schools in the USA students can separate subjects that they interested in or not, whilst as an example the Kazakhstan Ministry of Education does not support this. As a result, students waste their own time for disciplines which they do not find a necessity.

In conclusion, the benefit of academic courses is development of analytical abilities, whereas the disadvantage of them is limitation in the choice of courses needed for the student.