Most career choices demand vocational skills or specialist knowledge however, despite this, most schools and still teach academic subjects such as history or social studies. Discuss the advantage and disadvantage of this.

It is argued that practicing skills related to work responsibility is a basic need in a career, Al[e]though academic subjects such as history or social studies are commonly taught in schools. This essay believes that there are more benefits of focusing on skilled workers such as a comprehensive curriculum and certification skills before entering the work environment.

On the one hand, focusing on the ability of skilled workers is a good way to make comprehensive curriculums that are suitable for the industry. This is mainly because the student can learn about skills in their study sessions which helps prepare them before entering work life. For example, the Dual System is a scheme in Indonesia that the government has designed to combine the theory and practice needed in industrial companies. Additionally, certification skills are essential to make sure that skills learned in school are in standard needed, it are tasted by an official institution. Laboratory skill, for instance, is a basic need for people who work in the science field to ensure that they have the ability, such as manage the chemicals and do a health-safety work environment.

On the other hand, if schools just focus on workability skills, the students face problems in society due to the lack of basic knowledge. Students need to know about historic moments that happen or what to do in a social environment as a social person. The lesson of history is how Indonesia’s colonization by the Netherlands, for example, can bring a comprehensive knowledge of[n] students and do not forget to what the history is. Nevertheless, in the interview session, a candidate never asked several questions related to the history so they just need to focus on how to make sure the requirements from companies are fit to their competences.

In conclusion, despite focusing on theoretical lesson, such as history or social subject, I believe that there are more benefit to schools focusing on make a comprehensive curriculums or skills certification which suitable for the companies needed.