Most employers nowadays put increasing emphasis on social skills. Some people believe that social skills are important in addition to good qualification for job success. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The debate over whether social skills are significant besides good qualifications for career success is ongoing. While some argue that people do not need to nurture these skills, I agree that they are very important in all aspects of life, especially in people’s career paths, as will be discussed in this essay.

On the one hand, there are some persuasive rationales supporting the claim that social skills are necessary for people’s job success. To begin with, social skills, such as cooperation, communication, and teamwork skills, are required in teambuilding of a company to enhance productivity. To be more specific, some employers and recruiters tend to prioritise applicants with whom they can easily cooperate, in order to achieve high productivity and efficiency. Therefore, it is essential to have social skills to remain a standout in companies. In addition, these skills can make people more independent, helping them cope with difficulties. These factors are very important in a working environment, as they encourage other people to overcome challenges and make them more motivated in their work. Therefore, this helps them gain promotion in their careers.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that social skills are not a key factor that leads to success in people’s career paths. Some people are not taught these skills at home or in school, so they cannot develop them as well. This is because some parents who are occupied with work do not have enough time to care for their children to develop and nurture social skills. Furthermore, good qualifications might be the most important as they determine employers’ performance in working environments. This is because recruiters often prioritise applicants with high qualifications and require employers to be competitive, in order to contribute to making companies’ progress.

In conclusion, while there are compelling arguments for social skills deciding job success, I agree that these skills are very necessary. It is recommended that educators broaden the scope of education by incorporating these skills into the curriculum, and students strike a balance between academic excellence and well-rounded development to be comprehensively prepared for working life and gain success.