Most of the world’s problems are caused by overpopulation. Do you agree or disagree?

Many parts of the world have been struggling with the explosion population and its consequences. I concur with the view that the rapid population growth is one of the contributing factors to urgent problems in this globe, but the root causes are irresponsible human activities and a lack of education.

On the one hand, in recent years, severe pollution and rocketing crime rates are mainly attributed to overpopulation. Firstly, environmental problems such as water contamination or air pollution are inevitable in some densely-populated regions since an excessive number of dwellers dispose of waste and toxic gasses into water or the air. For instance, a tremendous amount of non-biodegradable plastic waste is dumped in Hanoi, a place with a high population density. Secondly, more people turn into criminal activities, for the overpopulation is the cause of higher unemployment rate when labor supply surpasses demand. To earn enough money to make ends meet, they may become pickpockets or even robbers on the streets, attacking others for money.

On the other hand, I do not concur with the view that most of these problems are caused by exponential population growth. A major culprit of severe contamination is the irresponsible activities of humans. Even though living in a crowded place, if they take higher responsibility for their actions, such as prioritizing the use of environmentally-friendly materials or categorizing waste for the recycling process, pollution can be addressed. Similarly, the increasing crime rate happens mostly because of lack of education. People are not adequately educated to distinguish right from wrong and unaware of their offenses consequences, so they become involved in crime. This would be the chief cause of crime rather than overpopulation.

To recapitulate, I have an agreement on the idea that the population boom partly causes many pressing problems in the world, but I think it is not the biggest reason for most of the alarming problems in the world.