Most people agree that money cannot buy happiness. Why is happiness difficult to define? How can people achieve happiness?

A common notion is that wealth cannot lead to true happiness. Although most people have a general idea of what it entails, happiness remains a difficult concept to define, due to its variation from one person to another. I believe that the best way for people to achieve it is by doing what their hearts desire, regardless of what the universe thinks.

First and foremost, happiness remains a grey area because it has different iterations from one individual to another. Connecting with close family members can mean the world to a family man, while other people might find the pursuit of personal wealth as the apex of their life’s achievement. Additionally, it is dependent on the person’s upbringing, as witnessed for those who grew up in difficult circumstances, compared to those who did not. The former is more likely to appreciate the little joys of life, whereas the latter would always seek something greater. One good example of the variation of true happiness is the satisfaction of religious personnel, such as nuns and monks, who appear to be at peace despite not having much possession.

Hence, I believe that the best way to achieve true happiness is by following your true heart’s desires, regardless of other people’s influence. Aligning oneself to the world’s way of life will only lead to heartache; therefore, it is best to succumb to what your innerself wants. Although it might sound selfish, a person should always choose a path that makes the most sense and leads to the best outcome. Case in point, most individuals on their death beds always point to the fact that they wish they had done what their heart desired, as opposed to what society compelled them to.

In conclusion, while happiness might be difficult to define due to its malleability among individuals, human beings should always be guided by their deepest desires, so as to lead a fulfilling life.